2021

30th International Workshop
on Logic & Synthesis

July 19 – 22, 2021

Virtual Conference


IWLS 2021 Proceedings

Please find the IWLS 2021 proceedings here

IWLS 2021 Technical Program

PT JST CEST
Day 1 Monday, July 19, 8:50am - 2:00pm Tuesday, July 20, 0:50am - 6:00am Monday, July 19, 5:50pm - 11:00pm
Day 2 Tuesday, July 20, 5:00 pm - 8:55 pm Wednesday, July 21, 9:00am - 1:55pm Wednesday, July 21, 2:00am - 5:55am
Day 3 Thursday, July 22, 0:00am - 3:40 am Thursday, July 22, 4:00pm - 7:40pm Thursday, July 22, 9:00am - 12:40pm


Monday July 19 based in Pacific Time (PT)
08:50 - 9:00am (PT) / 12:50 - 1:00am (JST) / 5:50 - 6:00pm (CEST):
Workshop Opening
Vinicius Callegaro, Cunxi Yu, and Gai Liu
Record @Youtube
9:00 - 10:00am (PT) / 1:00 - 2:00am (JST) / 6:00 - 7:00pm (CEST):
Keynote 1: QED and Symbolic QED: Dramatic Advances in Hardware Verification, Debug, and Security.
Subhasish Mitra, Stanford, United States
Session Chair: Luca Amaru, Synopsys
Record @Youtube
10:00 - 10:15am (PT) / 2:00 - 2:15am (JST) / 7:00 - 7:15pm (CEST):
Break
10:15am - 11:25am (PT) / 2:15 - 3:25am (JST) / 7:15 - 8:25pm (CEST):
Session 1: Logic Synthesis & Optimization
Session Chair: Alan Mishchenko, UC Berkeley
Record @Youtube
Boolean Rewriting Strikes Back: Reconvergence-Driven Windowing Meets Resynthesis
Heinz Riener (EPFL, Switzerland), Siang-Yun Lee (EPFL, Switzerland), Alan Mishchenko (UC Berkeley, USA) and Giovanni De Micheli (EPFL, Switzerland)
Talk @Youtube
From Logic to Gates: A Versatile Mapping Approach to Restructure Logic
Alessandro Tempia Calvino (EPFL, Switzerland), Heinz Riener (EPFL, Switzerland), Shubham Rai (TU Dresden, Germany) and Giovanni De Micheli (EPFL, Switzerland)
Talk @Youtube
Structure Aware Partitioning for Mixed Logic Synthesis
Ashton Snelgrove, Scott Temple and Pierre-Emmanuel Gaillardon (University of Utah, USA)
Talk @Youtube
Exploring Logic Gates Susceptibility and Circuit Mapping in Reliability Analysis (Short Presentation)
Matheus Pontes (UFPEL, Brazil), Rafael Schvittz (FURG, Brazil), Leomar S. Rosa Junior (UFPEL, Brazil) and Paulo F. Butzen (UFRGS, Brazil)
Talk @Youtube
11:25 - 11:40am (PT) / 3:25 - 3:40am (JST) / 8:25 - 8:40pm (CEST):
Break
11:40 - 12:30pm (PT) / 3:40 - 4:30am (JST) / 8:40 - 9:30pm (CEST):
Programming Contest: Presentation and Results
Session Chairs: Alan Mishchenko (UC Berkeley, USA), Sat Chatterjee (Google, USA), and Gai Liu (Xilinx, USA)
Presentation slides
Record @Youtube
1st team presentation: University of Wisconsin–Madison
Talk @Youtube
2nd team presentation: National Taiwan University
Talk @Youtube
3rd team presentation: UC Berkeley + U Tokyo + IIT KGP + IIT B
Talk @Youtube
12:30 - 12:45pm (PT) / 4:30 - 4:45am (JST) / 9:30 - 9:45pm (CEST):
Break
12:45 - 2:00pm (PT) / 4:45 - 6:00am (JST) / 9:45 - 11:00pm (CEST):
Special Session: Machine Learning for Logic Synthesis and Vice-Versa
Session Chair: Cunxi Yu, University of Utah
Record @Youtube
Talk 1: Nanosecond Inference Engines for Particle Detectors
Claudionor Coelho (Palo Alto Networks, USA) and Thea Klaeboe Aarrestad (CERN, CH)
Talk 2: Learning-based Techniques for Automatic Logic Optimization.
Pierre-Emmanuel Gaillardon (University of Utah, USA)
Talk 3: Logic Synthesis for Hardware Accelerators
Alan Mishchenko (UC Berkeley, USA)


Wednesday July 21 based in Japan Standard Time (JST)
5:00 - 6:00pm (PT) / 9:00 - 10:00am (JST) / 2:00 - 3:00am (CEST):
Keynote 2: Circuit Learning: A Classical Problem from a Modern Perspective.
Jie-Hong Roland Jiang, NTU, Taiwan
Session Chair: Vinicius Callegaro,Siemens EDA, USA
Record @Youtube
6:00 - 6:15pm (PT) / 10:00 - 10:15am (JST) / 3:00 - 3:15am (CEST):
Break
6:15 - 7:25pm (PT) / 10:15 - 11:25am (JST) / 3:15 - 4:25am (CEST):
Session 2: Approximation and Correctness of Logic Design
Session Chair: Gai Liu, Xilinx
Record @Youtube
RUCA: RUntime Configurable Approximate Circuits with Self-Correcting Capability
Jingxiao Ma and Sherief Reda (Brown University, USA)
Talk @Youtube
A method to join the On-set and Off-set of an incompletely boolean function into a single BDD
Renato D. Peralta, João P. Nespolo, Paulo F. Butzen, Mariana L. Kolberg and André I. Reis (UFRGS, Brazil)
Talk @Youtube
On the Rectification of Finite Field Arithmetic Circuits Using Computer Algebra Techniques
Vikas Rao (University of Utah, USA), Haden Ondricek (University of Utah, USA), Priyank Kalla (University of Utah, USA) and Florian Enescu (Georgia State University, USA)
Talk @Youtube
Two-Level Approximate Logic Synthesis (Short Presentation)
Gabriel Ammes (UFRGS, Brazil), Walter Lau Neto (University of Utah, USA), Paulo F. Butzen (UFRGS, Brazil), Pierre-Emmanuel Gaillardon (University of Utah, USA) and Renato Ribas (UFRGS, Brazil)
Talk @Youtube
7:25 - 7:40pm (PT) / 11:25 - 11:40am (JST) / 4:25 - 4:40am (CEST):
Break
7:40 - 8:40pm (PT) / 11:40 - 12:40pm (JST) / 4:40 - 5:40am (CEST):
Session 3: When Synthesis Meets Machine Learning
Session Chair: Walter Lau Neto, University of Utah
Record @Youtube
On A Design of Multi-Layer LUT Networks
Tsutomu Sasao (Meiji University, Japan)
Talk @Youtube
Henkin Synthesis: DQBF meets Machine Learning
Priyanka Golia (IIT Kanpur, India), Subhajit Roy (IIT Kanpur, India) and Kuldeep S. Meel (National University of Singapure, Singapure)
Talk @Youtube
Two Methods Based on AIG Constant Propagation to Reduce Neural Network Circuits (Short Presentation)
Augusto Berndt (UFSC, Brazil), Cristina Meinhardt (UFSC, Brazil), Andre Reis (UFRGS, Brazil) and Paulo F. Butzen (UFRGS, Brazil)
Talk @Youtube
Unit Time Modelling of Asynchronous and Pulse-Gate Circuits (Short Presentation)
David McCarthy (UC Santa Barbara, USA) and Forrest Brewer (UC Santa Barbara, USA)
Talk @Youtube
8:40 - 8:55pm (PT) / 12:40 - 12:55pm (JST) / 5:40 - 5:55am (CEST):
Break
8:55 - 9:55pm (PT) / 12:55 - 1:55pm (JST) / 5:55 - 6:55am (CEST):
Session 4: Machine Learning for Logic Synthesis
Session Chair: Jody Matos, Sivaco
Record @Youtube
A Supervised Learning Approach for Technology Mapping
Walter Lau Neto (University of Utah, USA) , Matheus Trevisan Moreira (Chronos Tech, USA), Yingjie Li (University of Utah, USA), Luca Amaru (Synopsys Inc., USA), Cunxi Yu (University of Utah, USA) and Pierre-Emmanuel Gaillardon (University of Utah, USA)
Talk @Youtube
Quantized Neural Network Synthesis for Direct Logic Circuit Implementation
Yu-Shan Huang (National Taiwan University, Taiwan), Jie-Hong Roland Jiang (National Taiwan University, Taiwan) and Alan Mishchenko ( UC Berkeley, USA)
Talk @Youtube
RL-Guided Runtime-Constrained Heuristic Exploration for Logic Synthesis
Yasasvi V. Peruvemba (IIT Indore, India), Shubham Rai (TU Dresden, Germany), Kapil Ahuja (IIT Indore, India) and Akash Kumar (TU Dresden, Germany)
Talk @Youtube


Thursday July 22 based in Central European Summer Time
12:00 - 1:00am (PT) / 4:00 - 5:00pm (JST) / 9:00 - 10:00am (CEST):
Keynote 3: Superconducting accelerators: circuits, design and synthesis.
Giovanni De Micheli, EPFL, Switzerland
Session Chair: Mathias Soeken, Microsoft
Record @Youtube
1:00 - 1:15am (PT) / 5:00 - 5:15pm (JST) / 10:00 - 10:15am (CEST):
Break
1:15 - 2:25am (PT) / 5:15 - 6:25pm (JST) / 10:15 - 11:15am (CEST):
Session 5: Physical Synthesis and Synthesis for Emerging Technologies
Session Chair: Weikang Qian, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Record @Youtube
Irredundant Buffer and Splitter Insertion and Scheduling-Based Optimization for AQFP Circuits
Siang-Yun Lee, Heinz Riener and Giovanni De Michel (EPFL, Switzerland)
Talk @Youtube
Talk @bilibili
Constraint-based hierarchical placement for FPGAs
Yukio Miyasaka, Alan Mishchenko and John Wawrzynek (UC Berkeley, USA)
Talk @Youtube
Talk @bilibili
Linear Feedback Shift Register Reseeding for Stochastic Circuit Repairing and Minimization
Chen Wang and Weikang Qian (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
Talk @Youtube
Talk @bilibili
Optimizing Adiabatic Quantum-Flux-Parametron (AQFP) Circuits using Exact Methods (Short Presentation)
Dewmini Sudara Marakkalage, Heinz Riener and Giovanni De Micheli (EPFL, Switzerland)
Talk @Youtube
Talk @bilibili
2:25 - 2:35am (PT) / 6:25 - 6:35pm (JST) / 11:25 - 11:35am (CEST):
EPFL Benchmark Results Update
Alessandro Tempia Calvino, Heinz Riene (EPFL, Swtizerland)
Record @Youtube
2:35 - 2:40am (PT) / 6:35 - 6:40pm (JST) / 11:35 - 11:40am (CEST):
Break
2:40 - 3:40am (PT) / 6:40 - 7:40pm (JST) / 11:40 - 12:40pm (CEST):
Session 6: Formal Methods and Applications
Session Chair: Eleonora Testa, Synopsys
Record @Youtube
A Circuit-Based SAT Solver for Logic Synthesis
He-Teng Zhang (National Taiwan University, Taiwan), Jie-Hong Jiang (National Taiwan University, Taiwan) and Alan Mishchenko (UC Berkeley, USA)
Talk @Youtube
Compatible Equivalence Checking of X-Valued Circuits
Yu-Neng Wang, Yun-Rong Luo, Po-Chun Chien, Ping-Lun Wang, Hao-Ren Wang, Wan-Hsuan Lin, Jie-Hong Roland Jiang and Chung-Yang Ric Huang (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
Talk @Youtube
Polynomial Formal Verification of Prefix Adders
Alireza Mahzoon and Rolf Drechsler (University of Bremen, Germany)
Talk @Youtube

Request a certificate
IWLS'21 will provide certificates for attendees and speakers. You can request a certificate here.
Please notice: attendance will be cross-checked with the Zoom participant entry list.